leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Catching up

Well tonight was a good night for tasting. With only one new beer, but still some old favorites in the mix. I’m going to copy and paste the list so far so that the numbering scale can make it in here.

1 Cobra from India
2Krusovice Imperial
3Original Czechvar
4Weihenstephaner Hefeweissbier Dunkel
5Petrus Dubbel Bruin from Belgium
6-10 Blue Buck, Dr Funk Dunkel, Baltic Porter Mash Up, Hop Circle IPA & Hoperation Tripel Cross by Phillips Brewery
11 & 12 Lions Winter Ale and English Bay Pale Ale from GIB
13 Zwyiec
14 Crabbies Original Alcoholic Ginger Beer

And new from tonight
15 Carling Extra Old Stock (its been a long time since I had one of these, but I remember it being O Keefes) This is also of note that it is the first of the major brewery beers in canada to make an appearance.
16 Vancouver Islander Lager from Vancouver Island Brewery
17 1516 Lager from Okanagan Springs Brewery
18 Fraoch Heather Ale –
19 Whiskey Jack Ale from Whistler Brewery
20 Bud Light with Lime from Anheuser-Busch – Kind of a weak point to end the night at. I know a lot of people I’ve mentioned this beer to have a hate on with it, but on a hot day, its mighty tasty.

For my taste of the 5 I got through tonight (it was a long night of socializing and games, I didn’t just cram in as much as I could in a short period of time) my favorite of the buch would probably be the Fraoch. It offers a unique taste and light aftertaste. All the beers tonight were generally light in nature. At darkest they ended into an amber.

Now as far as it goes for this blog, I’m hoping to get some input from anyone about what you want to see from it. I’ve already had some suggestions about doing a ratings system for beers, like a 1-10 scale. I’m somewhat reticent about that because I’d probably hand out a lot of 6’s and 7’s. The other thing is serving temp is a big thing when it comes to how they taste in the glass. I’ve decided to include beer’s available in non-bottles now. That way I can get into and review brew pub beers as well as canned beers like Bowen Island selections. Also I plan to use the compilation of labels and info I get to making a collage at the end of it.

If anyone reading has an artistic bent and wants to offer ideas about or make some kind of banner or logo for the leap beer project ( or operation leap beer, mission leap beer or whatever) Please send it in. I’d muchly appreciate it.

Enjoy yourselves and drink responsibly

Chris Frederiksen

EDIT : I missed the Maredsous Abbaye-Abdij from the other night when doing the numbers so it’ll now be #21 officially. One note about it, it is very dark and heavy. Yet it still maintains a sweetness as there is a molasses flavour in the aftertaste. I anticipate giving that beer a second go sometime in the future. I’m considering setting up awards for the end, something like “Most Revisited”(one I liked so much I just had to have more and “Most Suprising” (For one I expected to be bad that was really quite good) As well as “Most Disappointing” (self explanatory)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

