leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

#25 and #26, Cannery Collection Part Two IPA and Nut Ale

So the can says it has a fierce hop and gentle bite. It is a well hopped IPA with some bitter aftertaste. Relative high test compared to some, but very tasty. The lingering flavour stays with you for quite some time with this beer. It doesn’t remind me of any of the standard bigname IPA’s like Alexander Keiths, but it is strikingly similar to the Hop Circle from Phillips.

Here’s #25 the Cannery Brewing I.P.A.

#26 is the Naramata Nut Brown Ale
The site says this “This velvety soft ale has a stubbornly loyal following. Rich dark malts are layered in a seamless manner. Fine tuning with a blend of bittering, aroma, and flavour hops produce an amazingly smooth finish and a lingering taste. This is a full bodied ale with a rich and gentle flavour.”

Now let me preface this with the fact that I don’t remember liking this beer. So my preconceived notion is that it will be bad. But who knows, my palate may have changed and maybe I like it now.

So, after tasting it again it is, as one would expect, a nutty ale. I’m going to have a second one to see if I poured it wrong but it had a moment of settling the same way that a guinness would. There is no aftertaste, and it goes down very smooth.
To be honest I don’t know what I was thinking when I developed the idea that I didn’t like this. Its a tasty brew.

So the love in continues to Beer #26, Cannery Naramata Nut Brown Ale

All the info for this beer is available here http://cannerybrewing.com/index.htm

Or on via there twitter feed https://twitter.com/#!/CanneryBrewing

Im wondering if this has to do with drinking a beer from a glass, whether that makes it better or not. So far the streak continues and so do I. Only 340 beers in 346 days to go. If you think I’m rushing into it, please know that I do a fair amount of fishing in the summer. This will prove to limit some of my blogging.

PS I wondered what kind of nut a Naramata nut was, so I googled it. Only to find out that naramata is an area of the okanagan. Oops.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “#25 and #26, Cannery Collection Part Two IPA and Nut Ale

  1. Hi! I enjoyed reading your 3 blogs about our beers. Thanks for enjoying our Cannery Collection and reviewing our IPA, Anarchist Amber Ale and Naramata Nut Brown Ale. Glad to hear your opinion changed regarding the Naramata Nut Brown Ale. And fun story about the Naramata Nuts!! The guys will enjoy hearing that story! Maybe one day you can come visit us in the Okanagan and check out Naramata too!

    Thanks for your support and for enjoying and reviewing our beers.

    Cheers! The Cannery Brewing team

  2. Lisa Peck on said:

    oh don’t be fooled to just thinking that Naramata nuts don’t exist because we believe that our valued loyal Naramata Nut Brown drinkers are our very own “Naramata Nuts.”
    (Lisa Peck- the luckiest employee to be able to work in the retail store of Cannery Brewing Co.)

Leave a Reply

