leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

#30 Fat Tug IPA by Driftwood Brewing

I recently got schooled by a G.I.B. rep on the IBU scale which is a bitterness scale for beers. She said that the majority of IPA’s  are less than 50. Keiths is a 12. But this IPA weigh’s in at a heavy 80. Its really hoppy and quite bitter.I was suprised to read the website about this because it has a grapefruit and melon tones to this hoppy beer. The citrus does not go unnoticed.

I’d say it has more of a punch of citrus instead of a hint. But it adds to the bitterness of the beer. It adds a tasty peak at the end of the taste, with a lingering of the bitters. I really wish I had more than the 1 bottle.

I gotta say, this beer is unfiltered and beautiful

#30 on the Leapbeer list is Fat Tug IPA by Driftwood

Maybe I need a better camera than my phone.

Addendum: I shared another one of these with a friend the other night and he agrees. Its a huge hit. The flavour is so bold that it makes drinking milder beers after it pointless. This beer has been the most impressive beer on this journey thus far. BY A CLEAR MILE!

Thank you Driftwood Brewery, you’re patience and work has been appreciated.

 

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “#30 Fat Tug IPA by Driftwood Brewing

  1. Jeff McBrine on said:

    Is that all I am to you? Just “a friend”? Oh, wait…no that’s cool. I have to agree though, drinking any milder beers is just not enjoyable after you enjoy a Fat Tug.

    My proposed slogan: “Fat Tug, it tows the YUM right to the bitter end.”

  2. Pingback: 1 Month in – progress report and preliminary findings « leapbeer

  3. Pingback: The Leapbeer Tasting – A Trip to India Pale Ale « leapbeer

  4. Pingback: Leapbeer Reviews #159-#160 A Pair of Victorians « leapbeer

Leave a Reply

