leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Review #62 Courage Directors Ale

Time for another import on the leapbeer journey tonight. This one hails from Wells & Young’s of Bedford UK.
You’ll notice from the picture that this beer looks a lot like the Squire Scotch Ale that was last reviewed. It has nearly the same colour. The taste is almost completely different.

This is a bitter style ale. From chilled it has a hint of hops on the nose, a mild flavor to start followed by a bitter punch at the end. I don’t intend to do this with all of my tastings, but since this is a british beer I’m going to try it at room temp as well. It still has a floral hint that you smell. The initial flavour is very mild still. The finish on it, however, is way more pronounced. The blend of malt and bitter is really refreshing. As a thick headed Canadian boy I’ve always scoffed at serving beer at room temperature. But trying this at 13c I can honestly say that it is better. This is the second time I’ve been schooled by my beer choice.

#62 is Courage Directors Ale

With this post I’m officially 16.9% complete on the leapbeer count in just over 15% of the year. I’ve got a decent start on the year, but I don’t want to slow down because I know there will be some time gaps coming up.

This post seems a bit short so I’m gonna throw in a picture of our new ginger kitten. We named it Macaroni before we realized its a she.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Leapbeer Review #62 Courage Directors Ale

  1. You COULD call her KD.

Leave a Reply

