leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Review #107 Innis & Gunn Irish Whiskey Cask Ltd

First off I want to say a big thank you to Symphony Kwong for sending this sample to me. It’s a limited run, only 300 barrels released, so its fairly rare in these parts. This is a jet black beer served from a 330ml bottle and it weighs in at a high test 7.4% ABV. This beer is a Scottish stout. It pours really well and has about a 1cm head.

When I smell it I get a real scent of vanilla and butterscotch. You do get a hint of the Irish Whiskey barrel. In the first sip I start to think that this is just a really smooth stout, and then the aftertaste hits me, that whiskey is very noticeable. This beer has real a kick to it. Its quite a strong stout, and the barrel aging of it gives it quite a pungent flavour. I, for one, really like whiskey so it’s a welcome addition to the flavour profile. The more I drink of it the more I really like it. This is another of the barrel aged beers for this blog, and this is definitely top of the class.

This beer is a relatively easy drinking stout, despite its high test alcohol content. It leaves a thick lacing of coffee coloured head in the glass. This beer would be a fascinating one to cellar. If I can find another bottle of it I will be sure to do that.

#107 is Innis & Gunn Irish Whiskey Cask Stout

Thanks again to YBIMC for providing the sample, and as always, thanks for reading.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

