leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Review #110 Winter Weisenbock by Longwood Brewpub

When I did my field trip to Longwood brewpub, I was oddly surprised that they didn’t have this beer on tap. What amazed me was it was available in bottles, and a different beer (the Copper Bock) which wasn’t on the menu was available. Win/Win/Win in my books.

I decided it was high time for me to hit the high test winter wheat beer. This 650ml bomber has a high test 7.8% beer inside that my server noted ‘drinks like a 5% beer’. I was eager to give it a try. Its made with 50% wheat which apparently gives ‘it a distinctively creamy sensation and rich malty flavour’. It pours to a lovely amber colour, and smells lightly of dried fruit. This beer tastes fairly sweet at first, but as it coats the mouth it really balances out. It is really refreshing. It tastes so good that I totally agree with the servers comments. It would easily go down, making it a somewhat dangerous beer.

They call it the “White Beast (Bete Blanche)”. It is another fantastic beer from a great brewpub.

#110 is Winter Weisenbock by Longwood Brewpub.

Special thanks again to Longwood for this and all their great beers. I noted before that they were the first brewpub I’d ever frequented, and they definitely inspired my love of craft beer.

Thanks for reading.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

