leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Review #111 Erdinger Weissbier Dunkel

Tonight I reached for one of the beers I’ve really looked forward to since getting it. I had reviewed the standard Erdinger Weissbier earlier, and to sum up, I really really liked it. This is their dark or dunkel wheat beer. I poured it with my inverted pour into my tall weizen glass and set to the task.

There is very faint notes in the scent of this beer. You get a bit of the ‘banana’ smell that is usually attributed to weiss or weizen beers. It has a white foamy head that forms on top. It tastes a fair amount maltier, which is expected. To balance it out they added some more bitterness in hops. I’m not 100% sold on this rendition of their wheat beer. The golden version was so very delicious. This one isn’t bad, but their is quite a lot of carbonation making it quite a gassy time. I wouldn’t be able to drink more than 1 or 2 of these without needing a breather. Getting back to the taste, there is no aftertaste.

It isn’t bad, but I’ve had better dunkelweizen’s. Which I’ll review later on in the year.

#111 is Erdinger Weissbier Dunkel (from Erding, Germany)

I tried to get a shot of how this was a cloudy brown colour, but the glass kept getting condensation.

Thanks for reading.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

