leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Review #134 – Beachcomber Summer Ale by Vancouver Island Brewery

It took me a while to realize that I still hadn’t reviewed a single VIB product yet. I apologize to the distinguished gentlemen brewers from Victoria for my insolence. I’d had their Islander lager very early in the leapbeer journey, but then it seemed like I was distracted away from their products. It’s not to say that I haven’t purchased their beers. I have picked up a couple of their pod packs with the intent of reviewing all of them usually to find that my ‘guests’ have consumed them all. The point being, their products regularly grace the shelves of my fridge. So today they finally get the leapbeer treatment.

The beer I chose to review is one of their latest seasonal offerings, the Beachcomber Summer ale. This beer is styled after a German weissbier and pours to the colour of a golden west coast sunrise.  Its unfiltered so its opaque as well. The pour leaves a wonderful fluffy white head atop the beer. When you bring it to your face you are hit with the wheat beer scent. Banana, spice and wheat all attack your olfactory. It tastes like every good wheat beer should, minimal bitterness, a bit of spice and a crisp finish. It’s served from their 341ml bottles at a 5.3% ABV. This beer, when poured right, makes for a very nice session beer. A great quaffer if you will. It does appear to be a bit of a polarizing beer though. I really like it, but my wife & Frank (freelance leapbeer acquisitionist) didn’t like it. It really is a love it or hate it beer. It is also of note that this beer pack had a small card explaining the tasting notes of this beer, which is a nice touch.

Leapbeer #134 is Beachcomber Summer Ale by Vancouver Island Brewery

This summer seasonal would be a great beer to share at a beach fire. Bring glasses and be sure to pour it out properly (getting all that yeasty goodness from the bottom) and enjoy. Summertime is a great time for beer, be sure to enjoy responsibly.

Thanks to VIB for the beer, and thank you for reading.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

