leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Archive for the day “May 15, 2012”

Leapbeer Review #141 Blue Bridge Double Pale Ale by Spinnakers

EDIT: This review is erroneos as I misread the label thinking it a IPA whereas it is a Double Pale Ale. I will re review it in the future to remedy this problem.

I had the chance to try this during my last trip to Victoria at the gastro pub. I didn’t take notes on it then, but I went to Top Shelf liquors in Courtenay and picked one up.

Their site has this to say about it.
An emerging new world style, this double pale blends north-west and noble bittering hops and finishes with old world noble aromatic hops to create a complex and floral hop profile. This beer is superbly balanced, masking its strong body and making the beer very drinkable. Beware! alc/vol: 8.2% og: 1.068 IBU: 42

The beer pours to the burnt amber colour with a thin white head on it. It smells hoppy. It isn’t the citric style of hops you’d expect from a pacific northwest IPA, but a more pronounced version of ‘original recipe’ IPA hops. As mentioned in the quote above, this beer really goes down easy. It’s deceptively smooth, despite its medium bitterness. And at 8.2% it packs a punch. It tastes nice, but it isn’t an IPA I’d regularly reach for. It is middle of the road in view of the bitterness. This would be a great IPA to start someone on if you were doing a bitter beer tasting.

Leapbeer #141 is Blue Bridge Double IPA by Spinnakers Brewpub in Victoria

This is only my first review of a Spinnakers beer, but I had a chance to try several during my last visit there. I can say without any hesitance that I enjoyed every beer I tried there. There were some I liked more than others, but they all had a great balance to them. I look forward to being able to return and showcase some of their other craft offerings.

Thanks for reading.

Post Navigation