leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Archive for the day “May 30, 2012”

Leapbeer Tasting – Fruity Beers

Having had a large collection of beers in the Leapbeer fridge I’ve started organizing some tasting events in an effort to enlist help in my weighty goal. It’ll also help me clear out some space in the fridge for all the new releases as they come out. I had my superfriend Jeff join me for this tasting event.

The beers I chose for this tasting were the Longwood Brewpub Frambois, the Phillips Brewing Raspberry Wheat Ale, the Howe Sound 4-way Fruit Ale, the Cannery Brewing Blackberry Porter and a Cassis Lambic by Brouwerij Lindemans of Belgium. That’s the order we drank them in. I was trying to go for a profile of lighter to stronger tastes, but I didn’t have any experience with most of these beers so it was a bit of guess work as well.

First up, Frambois from Longwood Brewpub in Nanaimo.

Here are our notes.
Chris; First thing you get from this beer is a big time hit of raspberry smell. Taste wise, you get a nice bitterness and sourness from the raspberries in this ale. It is also very easy drinking
Jeff noted that it was sweet smelling. And you taste a definite sourness from this beer
2nd is Raspberry Wheat Ale by Phillips Brewery.


Chris; I don’t get a big whiff of raspberry with this one, but I do get a yeasty smell from it. It has lots of raspberry flavour with some great sourness from that. It also has that distinctly crisp wheat beer finish.
Jeff got that this beer doesn’t smell as fruity as the previous, but you can smell the sourness in it. It also tastes more wheaty.

3rd up is the 4-way fruit ale by Howe Sound Brewing

Jeff; Hoppy smell, but has a strange aftertaste. It tastes almost nutty. Not my (jeffs) favorite of the night.
Chris; Definitely smells of passion fruit and raspberry, as well as citric and hoppy. I got the nuttiness as well, its likely from the passion fruit seeds. Very complex fruitiness to it, a great beer.

4th is Blackberry Porter by Cannery Brewing

I know this pic was taken with the flash therefore darkening the beer in the glasses, but this is a jet black beer. Only when it’s very thin in the glass is it not uberblack. We both remarked that when it was poured. I didn’t taste the blackberry as much as I had thought I would, but you really smell it. It is a nice bitter porter still. Jeff agreed.

5th was the Cassis Lambic by Brouwerij Lindemans of Belgium.

Jeff; It really smells like the fruit (currants). When you drink it quickly it seems almost overwelmingly bitter. If you hold it in your mouth for a second it is extremely sweet. Almost cider-ish. Liked it so much it was the first he went back for 2nds on.
Chris; Incredibly fragrant. For a low percentage beer (according to untappd its 4.0% making it the lowest of the night) it is not a really great quaffer. More suited for sipping and savouring. After the initial confusion (it was my first lambic) I quite enjoyed it, slowly.

And that was our notes on the night. We enjoyed the beer and talking about them. We both agreed that while they were all great, our favorite was the Cassis Lambic. I’m intrigued to try more sour beers now, when I find some more. These 5 are now #’s 152-156 in the Leapbeer master list. Thanks to Jeff for helping me drink and contributing to the cause here. There are more tastings planned for the future, and he’ll be involved for sure.

Next time you are about to crack a bomber of craft beer, why not share it with a friend?

Thanks again for reading.

Post Navigation