leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Review #165 East India Pale Ale by Brooklyn Brewery

A trip back to hoppy town, again. As an admitted hop-a-holic I am always leaning towards the IPA’s when I go to pick a beer. I grabbed a 6 of this at Lucky’s Liquors in Nanaimo. A side note, this store has a fantastic craft beer selection. This IPA is brewed in the traditional style, harkening back to British brewery George Hodgeson’s original IPA recipe. They use 4 variants of hops, East Kent Golding, Willamette, Northdown and Centennial.

It pourts to a clear amber with a creamy off white head on top. There is quite a bit of carbonation in this beer as well. On the nose is a great hit of hops, likely due to the centennial. They use that variant of hops making it a hybrid of traditional and pacific northwest IPA’s. Its close to a pnw ipa. There is a lovely bitterness to this beer and it has a velvety mouthfeel to it. After you sip it you are left with a nice thin layer of bitterness in your mouth.

On another note, I tried this while eating a medium spicy curry and it worked really well. This is my first *successful* food pairing. I’ll post about my failed attempts in a later post.

My only problem with this beer is the name. I didn’t think we needed to clarify ‘East” in an IPA. Maybe I am being overly sensitive, but I wouldn’t ever think of native North Americans as Indians. Just my 2 cents.

Leapbeer #165 is East India Pale Ale by Brooklyn Brewery

Thanks for Reading

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

