leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Review #167 Saison Dupont by Brasserie Dupont in Belgium

How do you follow up a beer that won Canadian Beer of the Year 2 years in a row? With 2005’s Best beer in the world (according to Mens Health Magazine http://web.archive.org/web/20080705054825/http://www.mensjournal.com/feature/0507/bestBeer_world.html )

I know I kind of got into what is a Saison in my review of Driftwood’s Farmhand, but recently a fellow blogger, wunderassn, did an absolutely great piece on them. Please do yourself a favour and read their blog post here ( http://theyearinbeer.wordpress.com/2012/06/11/fit-for-a-farmer-the-history-of-the-saison/ ) and learn up on this style of beer.

A craft beer lover told me that this is the classic saison. I gleefully purchased this beer hoping for the best. This is a corked beer that is bottle conditioned, meaning that the final yeasting goes on inside the bottle. Not in a different vessel.

I popped the top on this brew and got to pouring. Immediately I noticed an overabundance of carbonation. I poured it into my tulip glass and barely got a 1/2 pour before the head was to the top. It smelled great, like good Belgian yeast. One other thing I noticed was a lot of sediment in the bottle. When I went to drink this I had to sip it slowly due to all the carbonation. I fear that it was over-bottle conditioned making it a difficult to drink brew. Saisons were designed to be quaffed and quench the thirst of parched farmhands or Saisoners in the French countryside. Unless the farm owners wanted bloated stable boys belching in the hayloft I don’t think this is what they would serve them this particular beer. I had high hopes for this beer so I reached out to one of my craft beer wise men via twitter asking about this beer. We deduced that it must be the bottle conditioning so perhaps if I let it settle and flatten out a bit.

“Flatten out your beer, are you nuts?” you may say, but it worked. I went back the 2nd day of the bottle being open in the fridge. I gave it a quick swirl before pouring to get all that sour yeasty goodness from the bottom, and poured it into my glass. It was perfect. Refreshing and light. Peppery and sour. Extremely complex and completely delicious. I am absolutely going to have one of these in the fridge on the regular after this year is done (because right now its kind of prime real estate). If you’re at all curious I encourage you to go read wunderassn’s blog post about the history of this style of beer. I’m planning to do a couple more in the next while, if I get my hands on them that is.

Leapbeer #166 is Saison Dupont by Brasserie Dupont in Belgium

Thanks for reading. As well a special thanks to John Lim Hing of Hog Shack Cookhouse and Wunderassn. In fact, they (the team that does the year in beer blog) just posted their review of the Saison Dupont Vielle Provision yesterday. Here’s the link, check it out. http://theyearinbeer.wordpress.com/2012/06/15/saison-dupont-vielle-provision/

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Leapbeer Review #167 Saison Dupont by Brasserie Dupont in Belgium

  1. The higher carbonation is one of the charms of bottle conditioned beers. And it actually has the opposite effect. Proper head means the CO2 is leaving the solution, which means you won’t be drinking it. It also increases the “refreshing” nature of the beer. The bubbles scrub your tongue clean and carry the aromas up into your nasal capacity.

    • Thanks for the info ithinkaboutbeer, this year is a year of new experiences for me. I just thought if this was the way a Saison was meant to be made it wouldn’t be able to quench a farmhands thirst without waylaying them from returning to the field. As stated I do plan to do a follow up post on this beer. And I’ve got a few other saisons to try, Upright 7 will be the next saison.

      • Well, saisons are kind of funny. The last batches of the spring were made extra strong so they would last over the summer and into the fall, when it was too hot to brew without spoiling all the batches. Fall-spring saisons were much lower in alcohol because you could make them, drink them and keep making more. Also, people used to drink a lot more alcohol per capita and probably had generally higher tolerances. Here is a review I did of the Green Flash Saison Diego, which would be an example of the lower alcohol version.
        http://ithinkaboutbeer.com/2012/06/14/green-flash-saison-diego/

  2. I am very intrigued by this beer. I will be keeping my eyes opened for this one.

Leave a Reply

