leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Review #168 Hop Ride IPA by Tenaya Creek

This next review comes from my last trip to Victoria. I went to Cascadia Liquor’s on Quadra and almost wept. If I didn’t have so much waiting in the leapbeer beer fridge I would’ve really put a dent in my credit rating. But alas I knew I had a large backlog so I only got a few beers, and this was one of them. I mean, how could I not? They put hop in the name, so it must be hoppy, right?

In answer to that, yes it is. This beer is from the Tenaya creek Brewery in Las Vegas, Nevada. Their website (http://tenayacreek.com/hopride.html) describes this beer as “Our Hop Ride India Pale Ale is medium bodied and aggressively hopped using a technique called ‘dry-hopping’ which adds a nice delicate citrus aroma. Combine that with Magnum & Summit hops to kick up the bitterness, and Cascade hops for a floral boquet. You get a well balanced and very drinkable American IPA. We live in Las Vegas and enjoy the areas beyond the reach of the neon. Bootleg Canyon MTB Park is one of those places. Be Warned, the rattlers have just as much bite as this ale. If you want to ride there, its going to be a “hop ride.” ABV: 7.2%

I poured this beer into my pint glass and it smells amazing. It smells fragrantly hoppy, but not overpoweringly so. It is almost like they understated the dry hopping of this beer. When you taste it tho it has a really thick and captivating bitterness to it. Its the kind of bitterness that sticks to the back of your teeth, which makes it more of a sipper of a beer. The malts aren’t forgotten either. There is a really good balance between the sweet and bitter of this beer. A very solid offering in the ever cutthroat IPA market. Bold in flavour this one is great.

Leapbeer #168 is Hop Ride IPA by Tenaya Creek Brewery in Las Vegas

I promise that I won’t do a whole blog of IPA’s. I know it seems like its all I reach for. Next time It’ll be something different.
Thanks for reading.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

