leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Review #178 Dark Matter by Hoyne Brewing

Just a quick note, this accidentally posted on the 26th via email while I was still editing it. If you got it, this is just a copy and I apologize.

This lovely brown ale made its debut back in March at the upstart Hoyne Brewing Company. I got a chance to try it off tap the weekend it was released, but it’s taken this long to get it into the blog.

This beer pours to a deep chocolate colour, like one of those bars of 70%+ dark chocolate. There’s a nice frothy head atop. When I smell it I get a lot of malt and molasses. Taste is more of that, plus the added hint of bitter chocolate. It tastes almost like toast, as if it has a bitter ash component to it.There is a thickness to this beer in your mouth, like what you’d expect when drinking a heavier wine. I’d guess that this beer would likely pair well with a rich protein, like a steak or bison. The taste of cocoa really lingers with you, not like sweetened chocolate though. It pairs well with the minor levels of hops bitterness present in this brew.

As I’m trying to pinpoint my thoughts on this beer it makes me think. ‘What kind of beer is this really?’ It’s labelled as a Dark Ale, but it has elements of a brown ale and a porter. I’d probably call it a hybrid, like a brown porter. As things continue to expand and evolve in the craft beer world, I find myself getting more and more confused. Confused yes, but satiated also. This beer, while hard to classify, is very good.

Leapbeer #178 is Dark Matter by Hoyne

An added note for you. Not so much beer related, but it has to do with the label. Anyone with an opportunity to see Northern Lights should try this. While you watch them whistle a tune. Just make it up. It will appear like the lights dance to the tune you make. Its somewhat cool and also a bit unnerving. I used to live in the northern interior of British Columbia where we got regular northern lights shows. They are a very awe inspiring thing to watch.

Thanks again for reading.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

