leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Review #180 Innis & Gunn Canada Day 2012

Again a care package from my friends at Your Brand Integrated Marketing arrived the other day. Thank you Symphony Kwong for providing me with this sample.

While Innis & Gunn has been releasing their special oak aged Canada Day beer for three years now, this is the first version I’ve had a chance to try. This is a very powerful beer, logging in at 7.7% ABV. The past few I&G beers I’ve had were all great. I have high hopes for this one as another of the ‘new to me’ things that leapbeer has been showing me is the joys of barrel aged beers. I recently had easily one of the best so far this year that was a barrel aged product(soon to be posted). Before I get onto more of my thoughts on the product here’s what Innis & Gunn had to say about it.

A word or two about the beer:
Alongside Ale Malt, we added Aromatic Barley Malt which imparts the beer’s rich toffee colour and satisfying maltiness. We used Goldings hops from three farms in East Kent to give the beer a bitterness to balance out the core malt sweetness.
We then slowly oak matured the beer to unlock the delicious flavours of vanilla and toffee locked inside the oak grain. Tasty!
The packaging for this year’s Canada Day beer has been created by Canadian artist Gary Whitley who won this year’s Innis & Gunn art competition.
Being a proud Canadian, Gary was inspired to use the national emblem, the leaf of the Sugar Maple with its distinctive shape and vibrant colour, to add a sense of both drama and fun to his iconic piece.
Gary Whitley has been a professional artist for more than 30 years. His work, which takes inspiration from the great Canadian outdoors, is exhibited across the state of British Columbia and has seen him chosen as a Signature Member of the Society of Canadian Artists. We are proud to showcase his outstanding work in celebration of Canada’s national day.

as per http://www.innisandgunn.com/en/the-range/canada-day-2012.aspx

I pour this beer into my I&G glass, and it has a deep amber colour like that of a rich a maple syrup. This beer smells great. It smells of sweetness, spices, maple and oak. When you taste it the higher alcohol content is very well masked. It is a sweet beer. You get a real big hit of vanilla and maple on it, with a hint of caramel as well. I fear that the sweetness is a bit to omnipresent, almost overpoweringly so. I’m not a huge fan of sweeter beers, and this one isn’t breaking that perception. It isn’t terrible, just not my cup of tea.

Leapbeer #179 Innis & Gunn Canada Day 2012

Thank you to Symphony for the sample, and thank you for reading.

Addendum; For those of you wondering why I numbered this one 180, when the last one was 178, it was because I missed adding Salvator to my master list when I reviewed it in the #150 spot. Then I erroneously reviewed another in the 150 spot. Rather than go back and re number every other beer since then I chose to insert Salvator at 179.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

