leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Review #181 Scorpion Double India Pale Ale by Tin Whistle Brewing Company

I’m attempting to decipher the difference between a double ipa and an imperial ipa. I inquired of my knowledgeable beer folks over twitter and they are the same thing. I was also told that Imperial is the preferred term. I assumed that the double mean the double I in when you shorten ‘imperial india pale ale’ to IIPA. Regardless of that, the IIPA’s/DIPA’s are a welcome hoppy sight to this beer drinker.

The Scorpion DIPA is a bold beer, as you may have guessed. Their label doesn’t lie. Although I think the inclusion of ‘Extreme’ may be a bit of an over statement.  It is a limited run by the Tin Whistle Brewery in Penticton BC. This beer pours to a golden/copper colour with a frothy white head on top. It smells super hopped. When you drink it the taste of it starts quite malty, then the bitterness builds gradually. It feels very thick in the mouth when you drink it. I do enjoy this beer, but it isn’t my favorite double india pale ale. Regardless of that I do think it makes for a tasty pint.

Leapbeer #181 is Scorpion Double India Pale Ale by Tin Whistle Brewing Company

Thanks for reading

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Leapbeer Review #181 Scorpion Double India Pale Ale by Tin Whistle Brewing Company

  1. According to BJCP, they are the same thing. Any IPA between 7.5%-10% abv with IBUs over 60. I think at this point you could use the terms interchangeably. I could see a day, though, when double means 7.5%-9% and Imperial means 9%+. But at this point, I think the 10% cutoff may direct beers into the barleywine/strong ale category.

Leave a Reply

