leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Review #184 India Pale Ale by Longwood Brewpub

This next beer is a staple at the Longwood Brewpub. I’ve had it several times and I always enjoy it. This classic style IPA is tasty and bold. I picked up this bomber a few months ago, and because of its age there was some sediment in it. It pours to a darker golden colour, with a thinner head to it. You get all the classic IPA flavours with a nice bitterness to it. This beer has some teeth to it, showing all of its 6.5%abv in your throat. As you continue drinking it, the bitterness sits in your mouth quite well. Whether in the pub, or in your glass at home this IPA is a great beer.

Leapbeer #184 is India Pale Ale by Longwood Brewpub in Nanaimo BC

I realize it may appear that the Leapbeer has become somewhat IPA obsessed (and if I recall it isn’t the first I’d mentioned this). Truth is I have a large stock of beers in the leapbeer fridge, and I was hoping to get through them all soon. As Rob Ringma has explained to me, due to the volatility of hop compounds most craft beers are better consumed as close to completion date as possible. As IPA’s are traditionally the hoppier beers I’ve been trying by best to get through those sooner than later. I also want to get through a few so I have a baseline with which to base my thoughts from HOPoxia on July 21st. After that I’m going to expand the blog in a couple of slightly different directions, so keep an eye out for that. I’ll also be doing my best to keep out of the hoppier beers for a while after HOPoxia.

Thanks for Reading

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

