leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Review #187 Kriek Lambic by Brouwerij Lindemans of Belgium

If you recall back to my fruity beer tasting I did with my superfriend Jeff, the clear favorite of the night was the Cassis Lambic by Brouwerij Lindemans of Belgium. I knew that night that this beer, the Kriek or sour Morello cherry versionĀ  of this beer, would make its way to the leapbeer blog.

According to Wikipedia this brewery has been open for over 200 years, since 1811 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lindemans_Brewery) Brouwerij Lindemans is a Belgian family brewery based in Vlezenbeek, a small town in the Flemish Brabant southwest of Brussels.

They really know how to encase their beer there, as the top of this beer is corked, then capped, then foil covered. After getting it open I poured it into a wine glass, and then someone behind me called me a beer snob. It pours to a deep magenta/red colour with no real discernible head to it.

Here’s a close up to show the deep red colour

 

I took a whiff of this beer and not surprisingly it smelled sour cherries. But it wasn’t a natural smell, it smelled like cherry cough syrup. When you sip it the cherry flavour is dull and muted. There’s almost no sour not to it. The beer is quite sweet, too sweet for my liking. Because I had such high expectations for this beer I find myself disappointed by it. They can’t all be winners, but I assumed this would at least have met a higher standard then it did.

Leapbeer #187 is Kriek Lambic by Brouwerij Lindemans of Belgium

When I did a bit more digging on the wikipedia page it shed some light on the nature of the cherry flavouring. Here’s what it had to say “Because of the limited availability of sour cherries from Schaerbeek, the traditional ingredient for kriek, Lindemans Kriek is made using unsweetened cherry juice which is added to a mixture of lambics of different ages. The resulting beer is described as less sour and more fruity. It contains 4.0% ABV.

How disappointingly illuminating. It explains all of my problems with this beer. The synthetic flavour, the overpowering sweetness and the lack of sour notes to this lambic. It appears to me that because they wanted to continue producing this beer, they sought out an alternative to quality natural ingredients, to the detriment of the finished product.

 

Thanks for Reading

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Leapbeer Review #187 Kriek Lambic by Brouwerij Lindemans of Belgium

  1. At one point, Lindeman’s was amazing beer. But they’ve grown so big they can’t use straight fruit anymore and have to use syrups. I suggest you look for anything by Boon, Cantillion, Girardin. The Cuvee Rene from Lindeman’s is still a fantastic gueze, though.

Leave a Reply

