leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Review #191 Hop Rod Rye Specialty Ale by Bear Republic Brewing Co

I offer another apology to the reader today, because I have forgotten something. I do not remember where I got this beer. I assume it was either purchased for my by my Sr VP of acquisitions on her trip to VITI or I got it in one of my travels. Regardless of where it came from or who picked it up this beer made its way into the leapbeer beer fridge, and into my glass.

I poured this beer into my glass, and it was filled with a deep amber nearly ruby colour with a cream coloured head. The head dissipated, but still managed to leave a nice lacing around the glass. When I brought it to my nose, all I got was hops. Hops hops hops and a bit more hops. Someone hit the supercharge feature here.

The taste is as I would have expected, very hoppy. They’re very present, all floral and bitter, but there is a rich deep sweet rye maltiness underneath. It is like a velvety blanket draped underneath every sip. It is very impressive. There is also a hint of caramel in the taste of this beer. I know it isn’t strictly speaking an IPA but like Krypton it is a Rye PA. Be warned in advance that if you get this it is a higher test beer at 8.0% ABV and an equally impressive 80 IBU’s. Their site describes the beer like this “A high gravity IPA brewed with 18% rye malt. Hop Rod Rye has a floral hop aroma and subtle caramel notes with a slightly earthy and spicy rye character.” via http://www.bearrepublic.com/ourbeers.php

A very tasty beer indeed, craft brewed in Sonoma County California.

Leapbeer #190 is Hop Rod Rye Specialty Ale by Bear Republic Brewing Co

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

