leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Review #197 Ephemere Black Currant Cassis by Unibroue

Now I admit I wasn’t very nice when I reviewed the Unibroue Fin Du Monde. I wasn’t trying to be harsh, but it came across as a like I was a bit mean. It was back when I was writing a considerably shorter write up to my beers. While I now am more verbose, it appears that my track record with this brewery isn’t getting any better.

The next beer from them I am trying is the Ephemere Black Currant Cassis. Due to the overwhelmingly good remembrance of the Brouwerij Lindemans Cassis Lambic, I’ve been wanting to branch out to the fruitier beers to try something with that same verve to it. Sadly this beer is not that beer.

It pours to a cloudy red colour with no head to it. It smells strongly of the black currants, however it doesn’t deliver on the flavour. It is a mild currant taste, with a lot of bubbles to it. I’m not saying it is really all that bad. Just that I find it to be a light, fluffy & very lightly flavoured fruity beer.

Leapbeer #197 is Ephemere Black Currant Cassis by Unibroue

I do promise to attempt this brewery some more, I’m sure the thousands upon thousands (who knows maybe more) beer drinkers of theirs out there can’t be wrong. Wait, wasn’t that an Elvis album?
Gah, I digress again. I am going to give them a good old college try again before the year is through. So please, all you Unibroue’ers save your hate mail for now.

Thanks for Reading.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Leapbeer Review #197 Ephemere Black Currant Cassis by Unibroue

  1. I’m personally a big fan of Unibroue. La Fin is one of my favorite beers. Comparing the U. Cassis to Lindeman’s Cassis is like compairing apples to oranges. The unibroue is a modified version of their Blanche de Chambly, a Belgian Wit, while Lindeman’s is a Lambic. The results are definitely different.

  2. I had tried this brewery years ago and did not like it much. I was not much into craft beer though at the time so maybe it is time for me to see what I think.

Leave a Reply

