leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

State of the Leapbeer, Mid September

I have a confession to make. I have been THE blog slacker of 2012. Here I am, devoting the year to beer and blogging and I don’t even do a post for nearly a month. For that, I sincerely apologize. I knew August would be a busy month for me, but I didn’t bank on it being as busy as it was. I should have had a back up plan. That said I’m rededicated to the cause.

It’s not that I haven’t been busy drinking my beers, or even taking the notes. I have been. Also I started posting for another beer blog, the BC Beer Blog. I even have my pictures, notes and beer’s from Great Canadian Beer Fest from Friday the 7th to post about. Without going into a long line of excuses lets just say that I got really busy. What also happened was I felt that my writing was starting to get a bit better and I didn’t want to publish anything that I deemed ‘Sub Par’. I felt that a simple ‘This beer is great’ post would somehow reflect negatively on the blog.

You could say I have a beer or two to work with

With my unnecessary hiatus behind me, I pledge to make the rest of the year (the last third of the leapbeer) to be the best of the leapbeer, starting now.

I have a plan, so please keep with me on this journey.  Obviously I plan to see leapbeer through to the finish, but I want to end strong. If everything goes ahead as planned, this could be legendary.

All that said, It is high time I got back to the beer. I’ve chosen a couple of beers from Surrey’s Russell Brewing to review for this post.

First up is IP’eh (IPA) This is another in the Brewmaster series from Russell Brewing. On the bottle it’s stated that this beer won the bronze World beer cup 2010. A little digging into the website and you see that it’s also won silver in 2012. The beer pours to a deep amber, cloudy. It is carbonated with tight bubbles leading up to a tan head. Smells quite hoppy, with a nice citric burst. Although it was somewhat milder citrus than expected as I’ve grown accustomed to the PNW Ipa style. When you sip this beer it really sets you back. I audibly said ‘Woah” while drinking it. I find it quite aggressively hopped, and considerably bitter. The bottle says it is 53 ibus but tastes higher to me, I’d hazard in the 70ish range. It really starts off harsh, but I find myself getting used to it. There’s a nice note of caramel malts underneath the bitter hop overtones. Another nice thing about this beer is it is only mildly carbonated, reducing the burp factor. As you drink the beer it leaves a nice lacing in the glass. The verdict is good, I really enjoyed this beer.  Any hop head would be amiss to pan it. I’d even say this is better than some of the Double/Imperial IPas I’ve had.

Leapbeer #218 is IP’eh by Russell Brewing

Brewery: Russell Brewing, Surrey BC
Released: Unknown
Size/ABV: 650ml Bottle/6.5% ABV
Availability: Limited
Purchased @: Liquor Express @ Tillicum Mall
Webpage:
http://russellbeer.com/bm_beer.asp#null

Next I’m moving on to the Wee Angry Scotch Ale. This beer pours very dark, almost chestnut brown. On top of the glass sits a creamy coloured head made of tight little bubbles. The beer smells a bit like sweet yeast. I also picked up more in the scent. A bit of fruit, like dried fruit smell. The beer tates great. It is a very good scotch ale, with a nice sweet back to it. Not to say that bitterness also makes it to the party. This beer is rated at 65 IBU’s and I can say they are there. Just not the star of the show. What surprised me about this beer is that it doesnt taste as strong as it is (6.5% ABV). You really get a nice blend of the malts, caramely as well as the fruitish character to it. I found it hard to pin down, but to me it tasted like orange or tangerine. I found the beer to be very easy drinking. I look forward to trying it again but next time at a warmer temperature.

Leapbeer #219 is Wee Angry Scotch Ale by Russell Brewing

Brewery: Russell Brewing, Surrey BC
Released: Unknown
Size/ABV: 650ml Bottle/6.5% ABV
Availability: Limited
Purchased @: Can’t remember
Webpage:
http://russellbeer.com/bm_beer.asp#null

Thanks for Reading

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “State of the Leapbeer, Mid September

  1. Was wondering what happened to you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

