leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Reviews #220-#222 An Unlikely Trio

As an attempt to catch up for all the time I slacked off last month you’re going to see at least a couple of posts like this one. This post is a bit of a odd grouping of beers, 3 completely different styles from 2 different countries. I have a German Dortmunder/Export Lager, a complex Pale Ale, and an American Saison.

First up is the DAB Original from Germany. This was given to me by a co-worker, Frank, who’s helped out quite a bit in the leapbeer journey. Thank you to him for this. This to me is a style of pilsner beer. It smells like that european pilsner smell. Like it has Saaz hops in it. It pours to a golden colour with a very thin head that all but disappears quickly. There really isn’t anything special about this beer. While it finishes crisp with no real aftertaste, it tastes weak. I would call it a full on pilsner after drinking it, but I’d definitely call it pilsner-esque.

Leapbeer #220 is DAB Original

Brewery:     Dortmunder Actien Brauerei
Released:    Regularly Produced
Size/ABV:   500ml Can/4.8% ABV
Availability:    Year Round
Purchased @: Gift from Frank

The next beer I’m moving on to is Loser Pale Ale by Elysian Brewing of Seattle Washington. This beer is a summer seasonal made to celebrate Seattle’s Sub Pop record label. Children who grew up in the 90s will remember this label because it was the grunge label with Nirvana, Soundgarden & Mudhoney. It is a fairly complex pale ale for me, as it hits on a lot of notes outside of your standard pale ale spectrum. It smells great, very hoppy.  They used Sorachi Ace hops to bitter it and crystal for a finishing hops. I didn’t get the ‘tropical flavours’ listed on site for tasting notes. This beer has a nice lingering bitterness to it. It seems somewhat IPA-ish, but painted on a pale ale canvas. I liked this, it is very nice and flavourful.

Leapbeer #221 Loser Pale Ale by Elysian Brewing of Seattle WA

Brewery: Elysian Brewery in Seattle, WA
Released: Summer Seasonal
Size/ABV: 650ml Bottle/7.0% ABV
Availability: Summertime
Purchased @: Cascadia Liquor in Victoria
Webpage:
http://www.elysianbrewing.com/beer/loser.html

Lastly I’m covering Upright Seven. Another Saison from the Upright Brewing of Portland Oregon. When you pour this you really get the smell of the Belgian yeast. It seems like more of a traditional saison, as you get a lot of that peppery smell to it as well. It doesn’t taste overly hopped, but it is refreshing and clean finishing. As it warms up it gets considerably more bitter. I shared this bottle with my sister (@da_def) and she said it tasted like bad fish/sushi when it warmed up. I liked it, but she wasn’t sold on it.

Leapbeer #222 is Upright Seven by Upright Brewing Company of Portland Oregon

Brewery: Upright Brewery in Portland, OR
Released: Year Round
Size/ABV: 650ml Bottle/8.0% ABV
Availability: All Year
Purchased @: Top Shelf Liquor Store in Courtenay BC
Website: http://www.uprightbrewing.com/bottles.html
Thanks for Reading

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Leapbeer Reviews #220-#222 An Unlikely Trio

  1. I also enjoyed the Loser Pale Ale. I received it in my beer club box in August. I agree thought that it was more IPA in the hops department.

    I have been meaning to pick up a bottle of the Upright Brewing Seven as one of the stores locally in Burnaby always has it in stock. I will have to now and try it cold haha.

Leave a Reply

