leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Review #273 Pumpkin Ale by Lighthouse Brewing Company

Another Vancouver Island Craft Pumpkin beer comes to Leapbeer today, and this one is by Lighthouse. I picked this beer up on my last Victoria run, however I’ve seen it in several stores up here, and thats a good thing. This clear amber pumpkin beer is less of a ‘pumpkin pie in a glass’ beer and more of a beer similar to the Post Road Pumpkin Ale. It doesn’t smell really strong, you get a bit of pumpkin smell along with a slight hint of sweet yeast. When I drank this beer I like the way the lightness of the ale plays off the thicker mouthfeel that the pumpkin provides. There’s a reasonable yet reserved dosing of spice in this beer, which I’m getting ginger and clove in the forefront. I quite like this one, despite my previous reluctance in drinking pumpkin beers.

Leapbeer #273 is Pumpkin Ale by Lighthouse Brewing Company

Brewery: Lighthouse Brewing Company of Victoria BC
Released: September 29th (approximately)
Size/ABV: 650ml Bomber/5.5%
Availability: Select Private Liquor stores
Purchased @:
Liquor Plus in Victoria
Webpage:
 http://www.lighthousebrewing.com/ (Beer not featured on their beer list)
Other Reviews: Untappd, Rate Beer & Beer Advocate

I originally had five Vancouver Island pumpkin beers I wanted to put on the blog this week, but I have to wait because I did not get one of them from the brewpub last time I was in Victoria. That said there’s one more in the fridge to come, and I’ll be blogging that one later tonight.

Thanks for Reading

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Leapbeer Review #273 Pumpkin Ale by Lighthouse Brewing Company

  1. This is one I have yet to try. Good to hear you did though.

Leave a Reply

