leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Review #276 Titanic Strong Stout by Spinnakers Gastro Brewpub

I’ve written a few posts about the time I spent at Spinnakers last summer, and while I was there I also picked up this little beauty. The Titanic Strong Stout is another in their high test (7.75% ABV) stouts, even though it doesn’t taste like it. I wanted to give this bomber a fairly comprehensive tasting so I tried it two ways, chilled from the fridge and room temperature.

This beer pours to a jet black colour with a thin puffy cafe au lait coloured head. Tasting #1 (chilled) I detect a nice amount of coffee and licorice notes with the malts. The beer tastes very smooth. It really hides its alcohol well. Even those who don’t like stouts (or say they don’t like stouts) would enjoy this beer when chilled.

Tasting #2 (room temperature) More than before it smells strongly of coffee and licorice and now there’s an addition of dates to it. It has that thick smell to it. The beer still tastes super smooth with a surprisingly thin mouthfeel. This isn’t a motor oil stout. The malts really come alive when served at this temperature. In my opinion this is a very good stout.

I know a lot of people compare stouts to Guinness. I dare to say if someone had this side by side with Guiness that they would think the Titanic was lighter due to the way it feels in your mouth.

One other thing about this that I find interesting is that this has different characteristics from their Tsarist Stout.

Leapbeer #276 is Titanic Strong Stout by Spinnakers

Brewery: Spinnakers Gastro Brewpub in Victoria BC
Released: Unknown
Size/ABV: 650ml Bomber/7.75%
Availability: Some Private Liquor Stores and @ Spinnakers
Purchased @:
Spinnakers Gastro Brewpub
Webpage:
http://www.spinnakers.com/past-beers/seasonals/titanic-strong-stout-2
Other Reviews: Rate Beer, Beeradvocate & Mikes Craft Beer Blog

One other cool thing we picked up while at Spinnakers was a bottle of their home made malt vinegar. They had a couple of bottles there made from a couple of different beers, but we grabbed one from the Titanic Stout setup. It is a very dark and rich malt vinegar, and a welcome addition to our pantry.

Thanks for reading

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Leapbeer Review #276 Titanic Strong Stout by Spinnakers Gastro Brewpub

  1. Thanks for reviewing this beer! My friend had one of these at a party and I’ve been planning on grabbing one ever since. Most of my favourite beers come out this time of year and it’s hard to keep up! I think it’s a good problem to have. 🙂 Have you had the Pothole Filler by Howe Sound yet?

    • Spinnakers just released a new batch of the Titanic, so you should be able to find them soon (if not already). As for the Howe Sound stouts I haven’t had Pothole filler or the Megadestroyer yet. I do have a megadestroyer in the leapbeer fridge, its just patiently biding its time.

  2. Always a good beer source!

  3. I did actually buy a bottle of this, but it was sour I was pretty disappointed to be honest. I’ve found the bottles of Spinnakers are generally sour. I do like their cans of CDA since they’ve never been sour.

Leave a Reply

