leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Review #277 & #278 Spiced Rum Cask & Winter Treacle Porter by Innis and Gunn

Today I’ve got a pair of new limited Innis & Gunn beers for the blog. I was pleased to hear that I&G is doing more seasonal releases. More new nicely crafted beers is good news to the craft loving community. I received one each of their next two bottles, one of the Spiced Rum Finish and one of the Winter Treacle Porter. Both of these beers should be available at discerning private liquor stores. You can find them on their own, and in the case of the Winter Treacle Porter, in a gift box containing two other beers and a branded stemmed glass similar to the one I use for all I&G reviews. I’ve always been a sucker for free glassware or gift packs when I go shopping at liquor stores, and I’ve gone through more than one of these stemmed glasses.

First up for me was the Spiced Rum Finish beer. For the record I am a big fan of rum. I went on a trip a while back to an island that specializes in making it, and ever since then I’ve been in love with the stuff. Like other sweeter liquors it can have a tendency to overly sweeten a drink, unless the sweetness can be off set by an additional ingredient. In this case they use a spiced rum cask imparting a bit of the sweetness of the rum and spice from the additives in it. This is a lovely light brown beer with a light tan head. The carbonation seems to be fairly standard to it with rather large bubbles. There is a lovely spicey scent to this beer, with a nice hit of that boozey smell. I pick up a nice sweet rum character to it as well as a bit of plum or some other kind of dark fruit. This is a relatively high test beer, weighing in at 7.4% ABV. When you drink it that doesn’t really come into play, at first. It starts of very smooth, and then a little earthiness creeps in from the oak, followed by a latent boozey burn. Initially I found it very palatable, but then the carbonation really kicks it up into your palate. This is a nice change of pace from all the seasonals I’d had up to this point (IE Pumpkin Beers) with a very different spice profile. I quite enjoyed it.

Leapbeer #277 is Spiced Rum Cask by Innis & Gunn

Brewery: Innis & Gunn Brewery of Scotland
Released: Unknown
Size/ABV: 330ml Bottle/7.4%
Availability: Private Liquor Stores
Purchased @:
Gift
Webpage:
http://www.innisandgunn.com/en/the-range/spiced-rum-2012.aspx

Next up was their Winter Treacle Porter. Despite my partial English heritage I had little knowledge of treacle. I assumed it’d be some sweetened kind of syrup that you could expect someone from the UK to serve on cold toast. My research on the subject found that I was pretty close to what I’d thought. Wikipedia describes it as “any syrup made during the refining of sugar and is defined as “uncrystallized syrup produced in refining sugar”. Treacle is used chiefly in cooking as a form of sweetener or condiment.The most common forms of treacle are the pale syrup that is also known as golden syrup and the darker syrup that is usually referred to as dark treacle or black treacle. Dark treacle has a distinctively strong flavor, slightly bitter, and a richer color than golden syrup, yet not as dark as molasses. Golden syrup is the main sweetener in treacle tart.” How would this fair in a fall/winter beer?

The Winter Treacle Porter is one very dark almost black beer. When it thins out in the glass it appears a bit brown, but it is very dark nonetheless. It smells very nice, with hints of nutmeg and some malty sweetness. This beer tastes sweeter than the Spiced Rum Finish, which I was expecting. However the treacle gives it almost a sherry type character to the sweetness. The alcohol in this is very well hidden. It is nicely mild initially, followed by a thick licorice kind of back to it. Saving that alcohol hit to the end of the tasting is nice, as it warms you as you drink. A winter warmer for sure.

Leapbeer #278 is Winter Treacle Porter by Innis & Gunn

Brewery: Innis & Gunn Brewery of Scotland
Released: Unknown
Size/ABV: 330ml Bottle/7.4%
Availability: Private Liquor Stores
Purchased @:
Gift
Webpage:
http://www.innisandgunn.com/en/the-range/winter-treacle-porter.aspx

Thanks for reading

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Leapbeer Review #277 & #278 Spiced Rum Cask & Winter Treacle Porter by Innis and Gunn

  1. Looking forward to trying this one myself.

Leave a Reply

