leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Review #279 Fearless IPA by Dead Frog Brewery

I want to start this review of with a bit of a confession. Before this beer came out I had written off Dead Frog. After the trio of trainwreck beers that I reviewed of theirs earlier in the year I had decided I’d had enough. While I didn’t say it publicly, I made the choice not to include any other Dead Frog beers on leapbeer. That said, I never wished for them to go under, just that I wouldn’t be giving them my money or space on the blog. No sooner had I decided that, then these jokers go and make another hop forward IPA. When I read that it was coming out I figured, “Not on my blog”.

Then the reviews started to come in, and they were all positive. Not just on the Untappd entries, but bonified beer geeks were coming back with good things to say about this brewery. I swallowed my pride, marched down to the closest store that sold this (closest was still a 45 minute drive away), and picked up a bottle.

I shared this bottle with a couple of other people in an effort not to allow any of my prejudice skew the review.

So when you open this beer you’re immediately hit with citric hops. It tastes very bold, yet it’s not an overpowered hop bomb. There’s definitely some balance to the beer. While it hits you with a big bitter punch at first it follows with a nice malty finish. It was enjoyed by all at the tasting last night, including myself. It’s not a perfect IPA by any stretch, but it is light years ahead of the last Dead Frog IPA I had (Citra IPA in their Brewmaster Series)

Leapbeer #279 is Fearless IPA by Dead Frog Brewing

Fearless IPA

Brewery: Dead Frog Brewery of Aldergrove BC
Released: September 2012
Size/ABV/IBU: 650ml Bomber/6.5%/77 IBUs
Availability: Some Private Liquor Stores
Purchased @:
Cascadia Liquor Store in Comox BC
Webpage:
http://www.deadfrog.ca/beers/fearless-ipa/#description
Other Reviews: Rate Beer, Beeradvocate, Parting Glass Beer Blog & Mikes Craft Beer Blog

So what’s the fate of Dead Frog Brewing in the eyes of this beer drinker you may ask? I’m cautiously optimistic for them. I still have a bone to pick with their lack of marketing strategy when they changed the recipe of their pale ale. I *may* end up trying that, but I’m not laying down the cash for a whole twelve pack to try one beer. I’d rather wait til I see it in singles. The other gripe I still have with DF is how terribly they came across on the CBC show “The Big Decision”. I know I’m not the only person who was offended by this. The rumours I’ve heard is that they didn’t even get the investment from going on the show, so that makes me ask “Well then what was it all for?” Hopefully they can have a response.

While I can’t endorse other Dead Frog beers, a hop forward beer drinker will likely enjoy Fearless.

Thanks for Reading

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Leapbeer Review #279 Fearless IPA by Dead Frog Brewery

  1. Good review. The reason they did not get an investment from the show was for one reason. The boston pizza guy wanted to build them up just enough to make a sales pitch the one of the big guys such as molson or inbev. They are a family buisiness and they want to keep it that way. A very good reason in my books.

  2. mydime on said:

    As an executive insider of the brewery, that is incorrect…. I could tell many stories, Lets just say the public really doesn’t know the truth….its more like the reason the dog was on the projections.

    • So what you’re saying, and correct me if I’m wrong, is ‘You could make a logical reply to the comments made in the blog post, but you’re not.’

      Why not? Are executive insiders not allowed to make public comments? It seems a bit of a tease to say you could tell many stories, but not share any. You’ve effectively stirred the pot without saying anything.

      I included my opinions for a reason, because I think they need to be addressed, PUBLICLY. Your crew went on a national show and came across like idiots. After it aired I got comments from other brewery professionals who tore into the same points I did (unprofessional leadership & upset by the “bought out by the big boys” comment) Even now the general opinion of Dead Frog I get from the beer community borders between indifference and not good. Please stand up for yourselves. If you want the public to trust you, earn it.

  3. Hey Chris, thanks for the good review on the Fearless! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    Derrick put up a blog post today addressing the results of the show, and why we didn’t move forward with The Big Decision offer. There’s other info in the post as well, but the results of The Big Decision are definitely included. You can check it out at http://www.deadfrog.ca/news/49/88/Business-and-Brews-Update-From-Derrick/.

    We also put up a blog post after the show answering what we could about what actually happened during the show. http://www.deadfrog.ca/news/23/88/Answers-To-The-Big-Questions-From-The-Big-Decision/.

    As far as executive insiders go, they’re definitely free to make public comments. Like Mike mentioned, Dead Frog’s a family run company and the executives are a tight knit group that consists of 4 people including me. If anybody decided to post they would identify themselves.

    If you have any more questions just send me an email at chris@deadfrog.ca or call me at 604-856-1055. We’d love to have you out to the brewery for a tour anytime to taste the new brews we have coming off and to answer any other questions you have.

    Cheers!

  4. Pingback: Leapbeer Reports – A Response from Dead Frog Brewery « leapbeer

Leave a Reply

