leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Reports – A Response from Dead Frog Brewery

img Courtesy Deadfrog.ca

If you read recent review about the Fearless IPA by Dead Frog Brewery you might have noticed concerns I expressed about events surrounding this brewery this year. A person claiming to be an insider at DF made an extremely vague post to the comments section of that review. Their comment is as follows.

mydime on December 3, 2012 at 9:46 PM said: Edit
As an executive insider of the brewery, that is incorrect…. I could tell many stories, Lets just say the public really doesn’t know the truth….its more like the reason the dog was on the projections.

I was somewhat incensed at the way the post came across, so I lashed out a bit. Here’s what I said.

heavycf on December 3, 2012 at 10:29 PM said: Edit
So what you’re saying, and correct me if I’m wrong, is ‘You could make a logical reply to the comments made in the blog post, but you’re not.’

Why not? Are executive insiders not allowed to make public comments? It seems a bit of a tease to say you could tell many stories, but not share any. You’ve effectively stirred the pot without saying anything.

I included my opinions for a reason, because I think they need to be addressed, PUBLICLY. Your crew went on a national show and came across like idiots. After it aired I got comments from other brewery professionals who tore into the same points I did (unprofessional leadership & upset by the “bought out by the big boys” comment) Even now the general opinion of Dead Frog I get from the beer community borders between indifference and not good. Please stand up for yourselves. If you want the public to trust you, earn it.

I realize I may have been a bit harsh with this, but I figured if I had someone who works there’s attention it was my best chance at getting answers to my issues. What followed surprised me. Chris Landsman, Vice President of Dead Frog Brewing, commented on the post, answered all my questions and won me over. Here’s his reply.

Chris Landsman on December 4, 2012 at 4:33 PM said: Edit
Hey Chris, thanks for the good review on the Fearless! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

I put up a blog post today addressing the results of the show, and why we didn’t move forward with The Big Decision offer. There’s other info in the post as well, but the results of The Big Decision are definitely included. You can check it out at http://www.deadfrog.ca/news/49/88/Business-and-Brews-Update-From-Derrick/.

We also put up a blog post after the show answering what we could about what actually happened during the show. http://www.deadfrog.ca/news/23/88/Answers-To-The-Big-Questions-From-The-Big-Decision/.

As far as executive insiders go, they’re definitely free to make public comments. Like Mike mentioned, Dead Frog’s a family run company and the executives are a tight knit group that consists of 4 people including me. If anybody decided to post they would identify themselves.

If you have any more questions just send me an email at chris@deadfrog.ca or call me at 604-856-1055. We’d love to have you out to the brewery for a tour anytime to taste the new brews we have coming off and to answer any other questions you have.

Cheers!

Thank you for this Chris. I am very pleased to see you taking public accountability for yourselves. I’m also excited about the relaunch in 2013 and trying your new brews as they arrive. And thank you to Derrick Smith, President of Dead Frog, who not only puts his name on it but also puts his own cell on the dead frog blog for people who have added questions.

With my comments sated and curiosity piqued I look forward to whats next from Dead Frog Brewery.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Leapbeer Reports – A Response from Dead Frog Brewery

  1. Hey nice job Chris. Gotta love when you bring up real issues and are able to get answers. Especially if it comes right from the Presedent! Reminds me of @bgcanary and @Barley_Mowat

  2. Good job, so apparently “Mr. Executive Insider” up there is a hack! 😉

  3. hey Chris I quite enjoyed their Winter Beeracle. Might be worth your wile.

Leave a Reply

