leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Leapbeer Review #323 Lagunitas IPA

At first with this blog I didn’t want to admit to my mistakes. I would attempt to proofread and double check every error into oblivion. This proved harder than I thought, being that beer drinking was involved. One of such errors occurred with this beer. I purchased a bomber of this a long time ago. It sat in my fridge for only a short time before I drank it. I poured the beer, took the picture, sampled, took notes then consumed the rest with glee (it is very nice). Then, for whatever reason, I discarded my notes. I have no idea why when I looked at the note on my phone I thought “Oh I’ve already posted that”. Thankfully the new Cascadia location came to my rescue, and this time instead of a bomber I’ve got a lovely six pack to share.

My love for Lagunitas beers has already been well documented. I still contend that their Hop Stoopid is the bar that I measure all double IPAs to. It is the gold standard for such a widely available beer.

Their standard, or unlimited, release IPA is a clear gold & copper coloured beer with a lovely fluffy tan head on top. It has all the aroma expected of a lovely hoppy ipa. There’s hints of citrus, orange peel and underlying malty sweetness. The beer is definitely easier to quaff than their hop stoopid. The tasting of this beer washes over you with initial bitterness, then a lovely sweetness from the malt followed by a lovely dry finish. The malt of this beer has the same kind of light licorice quality I picked up from the Samuel Smith’s beers. While not the cheapest six pack out there, it is sure not to disappoint any hophead (like me).

Leapbeer #323 is India Pale Ale by Lagunitas

India Pale Ale by Lagunitas Brewing Company

India Pale Ale by Lagunitas Brewing Company

Brewery: Lagunitas Brewing Company of Petaluma California
Released: Unknown
Size/ABV: 355ml Bottle(Also Available in a 650ml)/6.2% ABV
Availability: Unknown
Purchased @:
Cascadia Liquors Courtenay
Website:
http://lagunitas.com/beers/ipa/
Other Reviews: Beer Advocate, Rate Beer

Thanks for reading

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Leapbeer Review #323 Lagunitas IPA

  1. I had a bad experience with this one awhile back. Luckily, I retried it and realized it was just a bad bottle. Close call!

Leave a Reply

