leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

Archive for the day “December 31, 2012”

Leapbeer #366 – All Good Things …

So here I am, a complete year of beer drinking in and I’m getting ready to put the wraps on this whole endeavor. I thought it would be fitting for me to end with a beer synonymous with Vancouver Island. Not far from where I grew up in a town called Cumberland, they hold a rather dubious distinction. They consume the most Lucky Lager per capita than anywhere else. It is also a staple up in my current home town of Campbell River. Because it is so synonymous with my area and the beer culture here, I felt it would be the right beer to close things on.

Lucky is a purely golden coloured beer with very little head to speak of, in fact it dissipated within minutes of pouring. The aroma is kind of strange, its a mix between sour cream and stale bread. It tastes overly sweet for a lager, with a really unpleasant ‘sour milk’ bitter aftertaste. I’m drinking it at maybe 7c so maybe I need to freeze it to make it a bit more palatable. Can says the beer was established in 1934. I’m not sure if thats when this can was made, but it kind of tastes like it.

Leapbeer #366 is Lucky Lager

Lucky Lager engineered in a Labatt Labratory somewhere.

Lucky Lager engineered in a Labatt Laboratory somewhere.

Brewery: Labatt brewed in a sewer somewhere
Size/ABV: 355ml Can/5.0% ABV
Purchased:
Gift from @jonbrophy
Website: http://www.labatt.com/brands/regionalbrands.php
Other Reviews: Beer Advocate, Rate Beer

Who am I kidding? I can’t end this wonderful journey drinking this swill. I’m going to put this the only place suitable for this putrescence.

Putting this crap where it belongs.

Putting this crap where it belongs.

Now on to a beer worthy of being on the top of this list. Read more…

Post Navigation